Bacterial Special Interest Group

The Bacterial Special Interest Group (BSIG) works under the auspices of the MSSVD to provide educational and research support in the field of bacterial sexually transmitted infections.


To promote communication between microbiologists and clinicians involved in the diagnosis and treatment of sexually transmitted infection by:

Steering Committee

The steering committee is responsible for promoting the aims of the group and comprises:

Catherine Ison PhD, FRCPath.

Reader in Medical Microbiology, Imperial College School of Medicine, St. Mary’s Campus, London (chair)

Caroline Carder FIBMS

Chief Biomedical Scientist, University College London Hospitals, London.

Elizabeth Claydon FRCP

Consultant in GU Medicine/HIV, North Devon

District Hospital, Barnstaple, Devon.

Justin Gaffney, GUNA Chair. Lead Nurse Practioner/Manager

Working Men Project - St. Mary’s NHS Trust

Phillip Hay FRCP

Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant in Genitourinary Medicine, St. George’s Hospital Medical School, London.

Alan Herring PhD

Head, PHLS Genitourinary Infections Reference Laboratory, Bristol.

Patrick Horner MD

Consultant in Genitourinary medicine, Bristol Royal Infirmary

Gwenda Hughes BA, PhD

Head of STI (Acting), HIV & STI Section, PHLS CDSC, London.

Frances Keane MD, MRCP

Consultant in GU/HIV Medicine, Truro, Cornwall.

David Lewis MRCP, PhD, DTM&H

Consultant in Genitourinary & HIV Medicine, Guy’s and St. Thomas’ NHS Trust

Iona Martin, PhD, Research Associate in Medical Microbiology

Imperial College, Faculty of Medicine, London

Geoffrey Ridgway MD, MRCP, FRCPath

Consultant Microbiologist, University College London Hospitals and Honorary Senior Lecturer at University College and London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, London.

Angela Robinson MBBS, FRCP

Consultant/Honorary Senior Lecturer, University College London in Genitourinary Medicine, Mortimer Market Centre, Camden & Islington Community Health Services Trust.

Jonathan Ross MD, FRCP

Consultant Physician, Whittall Street Clinic, Birmingham and Honorary Senior Lecturer at Birmingham University

David Taylor-Robinson MD, MRCP, FRCPath

Emeritus Professor of Genitourinary Microbiology & Medicine, London.

S. Uthayakumar Consultant Physician GUM & HIV

Lister Hospital, Stevenage

Hugh Young DSc, FRCPath

Director, Scottish Neisseria gonorrhoeae Reference Laboratory and Hon. Clinical Scientist, Lothian University NHS Trust